Japan will host the quadrennial FIVB Volleyball Women’s World Championship from September 29 to October 20. The 18th edition of the tournament, which began in 1952, will take place in various cities throughout the country.


A total of 24 teams will compete for the title following continental qualifications. The qualification process started in May 2016 and lasted until October 2017. Hosts Japan qualified automatically for the quadrennial event.
The competition will feature five teams from Asia (including the hosts), two from Africa, eight from Europe, two from South America and seven (including defending champions USA) from the North, Central America and Caribbean Confederation. The participating teams will compete against each other in 103 matches that will take place over 15 days.
The 24 teams have been divided into four pools of six teams playing in a round-robin system with the top four teams in each pool advancing to the second round. The 16 teams in the second round will be split into two pools of eight (the top teams from Pools A and D in one group, and the top teams from Pools C and B in the other).
The top three teams in each of the two second round pools will advance to the third round. The two second round pool winners will be placed in different third round pools with the second and third-placed teams drawn. The round will consist of a round-robin system with the top two teams in each pool advancing to the semifinals. A 5th rank match will take place on the same day as the semifinals. The 103rd and last match of the tournament will be the final.



All the News